YouTube: “Mu isamaa on minu arm” // Estonian Song Celebration


One of the most important songs for Estonians. First composition by Aleksander Kunileid, lyrics Lydia Koidula. This song was first set to music 1869 at the first Estonian Song Celebration. Second composition which is more know for public was done by Gustav Ernesaks in 1944.

“Mu isamaa on minu arm” (My Country is My Love) became the unofficial anthem during the Soviet occupation when her father’s (Johann Voldemar Jannsen) “Mu isamaa, mu õnn ja rõõm” (My Country is My Pride and Joy), the anthem of the Estonian Republic in 1921-1940 was forbidden. Koidulas song always finished every festival, with or without permission. The tradition persists to this day.


Lyrics:

My Country is My Love,
to whom I´ve given My Heart.
To You I sing, my greatest happiness,
My flowering Estonia!
Your pain boils in My Heart,
Your Pride and Joy makes my happy,
My Country, My Country!

My Country is My Love,
I shall never leave Her,
even if I must die hundred deaths
because of Her!
Does the foreign envy slander,
You still live in my Heart,
My Country, My Country!

My Country is My Love,
and I want to rest,
to lay down into Your Arms,
My sacred Estonia!
Your Birds will sing Sleep to Me,
flowers will bloom from My Ashes,
My Country, My Country!

43 Responses to “YouTube: “Mu isamaa on minu arm” // Estonian Song Celebration”


  1. 1 iain taylor July 17, 2009 at 12:18 AM

    spectacular & moving

  2. 2 Catherine July 17, 2009 at 5:06 AM

    This must be one of the most moving national songs ever written, anywhere. Simply beautiful.

    • 3 Cecelia Benefiel October 24, 2011 at 1:21 AM

      it is a haunting and sad shadow of the original anthem

  3. 4 jstaffcv@girlsandnylons July 17, 2009 at 4:58 PM

    Tell me more about your Love became the unofficial anthem during the Soviet occupation when her father’s Johann Voldemar Jannsen “Mu isamaa mu õnn ja rõõm” your Country is your Pride and Joy the anthem of the Estonian Republic in 1921 1940 was forbidden.

  4. 5 James-Henry Holland July 21, 2009 at 8:55 PM

    I’m interested in the oak-leaf wreathes the directors are wearing– I also noticed the oak-leaf swags on the directors’ podium.

    What are these oak-leaf decorations called? Folkloric significance? I saw people in Latvia selling these on the side of the road– and wondered why people might be buying them.

    • 6 To Breathe As One July 22, 2009 at 3:00 PM

      Oak is strong and old tree which resembles Estonians – history goes way back and they had to be tough during occupations and other harsh times. Oak has historical value to us. Many coat of arms in Estonia have oak leaves on them and also many households have planted an oak tree in their garden.

  5. 7 Lorenzo August 3, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    Just to complete Your interesting report, please give a look to the Italo-Estonian site http://www.pillandia.blogspot.com
    You’ll find a rich collection of photos of political borders from all the world.
    Best wishes!

  6. 8 Anonymous October 5, 2011 at 9:04 AM

    Absolute moving song -a song of pride in GERMANIC HERITAGE !!

  7. 9 coupons April 13, 2013 at 7:10 AM

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information specifically the last phase 🙂 I deal with such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a very long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  8. 10 blog.deangorissen.com June 13, 2013 at 4:56 AM

    If some one wants expert view on the topic of blogging afterward i advise
    him/her to pay a visit this webpage, Keep up the nice job.

  9. 11 vitamin c oil for face June 20, 2013 at 12:00 PM

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my users
    would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.

    Please let me know if this ok with you. Regards!

  10. 12 internet Marketing Sales funnel process July 2, 2013 at 6:52 PM

    I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your
    information. Your article has really peaked my interest.
    I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new
    details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  11. 13 http://forum.socialdeviancy.com July 26, 2013 at 12:31 AM

    Why would they, when the money isn’t there for the pharmaceutical companies to teach them about natural medicines the way they educate them about drugs. But you cannot be sure about the capabilities of the lawyer, unless he has been referred to you by somebody trustworthy or who has proven credentials. If he feels that your invention is much similar to any other patented invention, he may tell you that your invention is not patentable.

  12. 14 Lance Begay August 12, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    What’s up to every , since I am actually keen of reading this blog’s post to
    be updated on a regular basis. It includes good stuff.

  13. 15 austin texas dentist September 7, 2013 at 10:01 AM

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or
    did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few
    simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where
    you got your design. Thank you

  14. 16 Gainesville DUI Lawyer September 18, 2013 at 8:37 AM

    BAC is a scientific technique to check the level
    of alcohol that is present in a person’s blood. When do I start looking to hire my
    DUI Defense Attorney. Therefore, the legislation authority has posed
    stringent law against impaired and careless driving.

  15. 17 cruise ship rape attorneys September 25, 2013 at 8:40 PM

    If you have been wrongfully suffered investment loss, injury, or
    other claims because of a collective group or company, you need to begin thinking
    about class action lawsuits. No matter where you live, if you
    want to sue a cruise ship company, you have to do
    it in a jurisdiction that the cruise ship company specifies, and
    this is usually in or around Miami, Florida. The recent troubles involving Carnival ships
    have heightened the level of media and legislative scrutiny.

    • 18 Velvet February 27, 2014 at 12:27 PM

      Most help articles on the web are inaccurate or inntoerech. Not this!

  16. 19 type water used September 27, 2013 at 3:37 PM

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing
    your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write
    again very soon!

  17. 20 Bernard December 21, 2013 at 6:41 AM

    Before recording, Thad and Jason like to write with artists to get an understanding of who they are and where they want to be.
    This will give the psychotherapist time to assess the couple and
    come to a finish for the plan they will surely like to chase.
    Jennifer Hudson looked slender a red figure-hugging dress
    in 2007.

  18. 21 https://www.facebook.com/ February 12, 2014 at 6:21 AM

    I love YouTube: Mu isamaa on minu arm // Estonian Song Celebration
    | Estonian Song and Dance Celebration 2009 blog
    Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having
    a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different
    then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  19. 22 massage tips for constipation March 5, 2014 at 5:53 AM

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  20. 23 cynicalfacsimil35.shutterfly.com March 13, 2014 at 10:50 AM

    Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to
    my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  21. 24 beauty zine April 23, 2014 at 1:53 AM

    I pay a quick visit each day some websites and sites to read articles or reviews, except this blog gives feature based content.

  22. 25 cheap origin games May 6, 2014 at 8:31 PM

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s posts daily along
    with a mug of coffee.

  23. 26 Michael Kors Women's MK5538 May 13, 2014 at 7:55 PM

    Answering the call are Bob (Vince Vaughn), a beer-swigging jock
    who signs on just to escape the ol’ ball-and-chain a couple of nights a week; Franklin (Jonah Hill), a switchblade-slingin’ youngster who’s been rejected by Glenview’s finest; and Jamarcus (Richard Ayoade), who’s just within it to the nookie with lonely housewives.
    s, the machines for manufacturing watches were developed and clock
    parts were being manufacturers and subsequently the expense of
    various watches came down. And one with the most effective marketing tools is
    employing movie to show the characteristics and benefits of
    your product or service and services.

  24. 27 descargar whatsapp gratis para pc windows 7 ultimate May 23, 2014 at 4:29 AM

    I’m now not sure the place you’re getting your info, but
    great topic. I needs to spend some time learning
    much more or figuring out more. Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  25. 28 whatsapp para iphone 3g May 23, 2014 at 5:46 AM

    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely
    different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Excellent
    choice of colors!

  26. 29 descargar whatsapp gratis para android samsung May 29, 2014 at 12:39 AM

    Hi are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my
    own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  27. 30 aplicaciones para celular android gratis en español May 30, 2014 at 9:42 AM

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you provide.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Excellent read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  28. 31 prudential annuity June 30, 2014 at 10:45 AM

    An investor make an intelligent decision would be better served selecting a property that is fully occupied.

    Much depends on property type, location, and use of facility.
    Cuddled in the greater ranges of Rocky Mountains, it is
    200 miles southwest of Denver and 130 miles northeast of Grand Junction,
    In Aspen you will find all that you are hunting for in a vacation with loved ones or friends.
    Hence whether be level design or any complex design, we animate all of them with perfection. List your project on a bi-lingual property listing site (English & Chinese),
    and also reach out to our members, you can also publish
    articles on this site, we will also send out your property listing through our social media networks in English & Chinese.
    There are lots of factors involved in buying or selling
    property that are beyond our control for example, interest rates could jump unexpectedly, or the market could change dramatically.

    You can make hundreds of thousands of dollars by buying a run-down house at the right price,
    using the correct finance structure, fix it up for the least possible cost and then sell it for maximum profit, or hold and use
    the newfound equity to help fund your next property.
    Actually, they are not as complicated as it may seem.

    ‘ Cover concerns and likely objections of your
    TARGET audience. Additionally, chasing down the point person who handles short sales within the lending institution can be problematic and time
    consuming.

  29. 32 Marlene July 15, 2014 at 4:55 AM

    This is a good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise info… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  30. 33 Wendi August 3, 2014 at 3:02 AM

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my
    social networks!

  31. 34 products and services offered by banks August 21, 2014 at 4:55 AM

    Here, in this article; all such thoughts have been summarized for you.

    There was a television show called Siskel and Ebert that would tell us
    whether the movie was “two thumbs up” or “two thumbs down”, but usually,
    we didn’t believe them. In all this, Press Release distribution service is great way to enhance your website’s visibility.

  32. 35 poppell September 9, 2014 at 11:12 AM

    Good difficulties once and for all, you merely picked up a new target audience. Precisely what do you suggest in regards to this page you . poppellproduced 7 days in past times? Virtually any optimistic?

  33. 36 Silke September 22, 2014 at 1:36 PM

    Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m
    trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  34. 37 more dropbox space for free October 13, 2014 at 1:48 AM

    What’s up to every body, it’s my first visit of this weblog;
    this weblog consists of amazing and actually good material designed
    for readers.

  35. 38 Felicitas March 13, 2015 at 12:22 AM

    I every time emailed thhis webpage post page too all my associates, for the
    reason thwt if like to read it next my links will too.

  36. 39 early american advertising November 22, 2015 at 7:31 PM

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and
    i am truly impressed to read all at alone place.

  37. 40 chung cu eurowindow river park sex February 9, 2017 at 8:02 PM

    I feel that is among the most important info for me.
    And i’m happy studying your article. But want to statement on some common issues, The website style is perfect,
    the articles is really great : D. Good activity, cheers


  1. 1 YouTube: “Mu isamaa on minu arm” // Estonian Song Celebration … | Estonia Today Trackback on July 17, 2009 at 12:16 AM
  2. 2 pulled muscles Trackback on April 29, 2014 at 9:56 PM
  3. 3 ipone Trackback on March 1, 2015 at 6:37 AM

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Flickr Photos

Blog archive

Blog Statsistics

  • 38,141 hits

